The Common Policy Framework (CPF) of Pakatan Rakyat – STOP LYNAS!

We, Members of Parliament of Pakatan Rakyat, refer to the approval of
a Temporary Operating License (TOL) granted on 1st February 2012 by
the Atomic Energy Licensing Board (AELB) to the controversial rare
earth plant in Gebeng, Kuantan to be operated by Lynas Corp.

Pakatan Rakyat hereby unequivocally states our opposition to the
setting up of the Lynas Corp plant in Gebeng, Kuantan.

The Common Policy Framework (CPF) of Pakatan Rakyat declares our
commitment to the environment, sustainable growth and green
development. This rare earth plant will produce radioactive waste
which, in no uncertain terms, goes against the very grain of the
Pakatan Rakyat CPF in that it could potentially and catastrophically
be injurious to human health through long-term, low level, chronic
exposure but equally degrade the environment, thereby negatively
impacting the economy of this country.

Pakatan Rakyat is also very concerned that a TOL was granted despite:

1) there being no clear indications from either Lynas Corp or AELB if
the waste disposal plan complied with recommendations from the
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) or not

2) the fact that 1,123 comments and criticisms from the public on
Lynas’ documents have not been clearly dealt with.

3) the revelation that AkzoNobel, a “crucial contractor” to the Lynas
project, has pulled out due to safety concerns (as reported by the New
York times on 31st January 2012).

Pakatan Rakyat supports all efforts made by the Member of Parliament
for Kuantan, YB Fuziah Salleh, to ensure that environmental justice is
upheld for the people of Kuantan and Malaysians in general. This
supports extends to her upcoming legal challenge to bring this matter
to court, via a judicial review.

Pakatan Rakyat hereby calls upon the Umno-Barisan Nasional Federal
Government to immediately rescind this approval of a TOL, for the sake
of our future.

YB Nurul Izzah, Member of Parliament for Lembah Pantai
YB Chua Tian Chang, Member of Parliament for Batu
YB Liew Chin Tong, Member of Parliament for Bukit Bendera
YB Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad, Member of Parliament for Kuala Selangor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *